Blog-So-Cute

yeah, I went there…

Once Upon A Time… January 9, 2012

Filed under: me... — sosewcute @ 8:55 pm

There was a little girl, named Julie.  She was a happy girl, dreaming of becoming a princess, or the President, or maybe just traveling the world and settling down with a gorgeous Italian man, then having lots of little bambinos who would run around saying “mangia, mangia”.  During her high school years she realized she might be expecting a bit much out of life, so like everyone else, she applied to college, got accepted and off she went to begin life as a grown up.  However, she never really felt like anyone else.  She didn’t crave the security of a long term plan, preferring to hop from major to major, undecided on exactly what she wanted to do.  Journalism?  Business?  Teaching?  Nothing seemed to fit quite right.  After a couple years she decided to take a break from college, vowing to go back someday and finish that degree – once she decided what she wanted to do!

Fast forward 18 years…I am now sitting at a desk in myliving room, starting a blog about life.  My life, life in general, all of it.  Life is very different than I ever expected it would be.  Different in a fabulous, amazing, joyful way, but still…different.  Never did I think I would be 38 (eek!), a stay at home mom, with a 14 year old son (eek again!) and a daughter about to turn 2.  How did I get here?  The ride was amazing, but it went by so fast!  I remember people asking me throughout my youth, “what do you want to be when you grow up?}.  I can’t begin to remember all the answers, but I know I wanted to be a dancer, a singer, a writer, a teacher, an accountant, a high-powered business executive…the list goes on and on.  Yet here I am, an adult, though I don’t really feel like one most of the time, teaching my daughter her ABC’s, and then working with my son on his home school lessons.

At some point in the last year or two I looked back and realized I had always worked for someone.  Done what I was told, when I was told, and given a strict deadline.  I had a to-do list basically created for me every day.  BORING!  No wonder I jumped from job to job after college and into my adult years…the monotony of the same commute every day, taking the same elevator, seeing the same people, it was all too much.  So I talked to my amazing and wonderful husband, and we decided to try something new…me, working for myself.  There have been some bumps along the way, but after our 6 month trial period, the numbers are better than we ever expected them to be.  I’ve had more fun than I ever thought I would, and the idea of taking this little experiment and moving forward…onward and upward, is exhilarating, and terrifying.  But if there is one thing I’ve learned over the past 38 years, it’s this…once I set my mind to something, there is no stopping me.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, keeping up with this blog is something I’ve put my mind to as well.  🙂

 

One Response to “Once Upon A Time…”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

